Olfactory Pyramid: Understand the Harmony of a Perfume

We call the traditional structure of a perfume Olfactory Pyramid. Even if a perfume is an artistic creation, there are physical principles that cannot be avoided. In fact, every natural extract used in the fragrance industry has different compounds. These compounds evaporate more or less quickly.

According to the volatility of its components, the Olfactory Pyramid divides a perfume’s scent in three different notes: top, heart and base. These notes allow to balance and make more lively a perfume. Evaporation is gradual and continuous. It is vital to know a perfume’s notes in order to choose your fragrance properly.

Top Notes

The first notes you will smell after spraying your perfume are light and fresh. You primarly find citrus such as orange, grapefruit or bergamot. But it is also made of aromatic notes such as lavender or lemongrass. These notes are the most perceptible but also the most ephemeral.

Heart Notes

Heart notes are long-lasting and as the name suggests, they form the heart of a perfume. The smell lingers over time and thus gives the character and personality of a fragrance. Heart notes come from floral, fruity and spicy scents such as jasmine, rose and cinnamon.

Base Notes

Less intense and perceptible than the other notes, they are still the most tenacious because of their incredible duration (up to 24 hours). The main role of base notes is to fix the perfume to make it last in time. This category contains woody and balsamic notes such as cedarwood, sandalwood or vanilla. These notes interact very well with the skin of each person and thus create a unique alchemy.

Copyright © by Natural Evasion 2019. All Rights Reserved.